African AmericansInternationalLiteraturePolitics, Government & LawScienceWomen
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Biographies 

Resources related to the subject of Biographies
Last update: Jun 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.ocls.cmich.edu/biographies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journals/Databases            Print Page
  
 

Chat with a Librarian

Chat Hours

If a librarian is not online, please include your email address and phone number so we can follow up with you. 
Or submit your request via our Ask a Librarian Request Form.


Loading Video Clip...
 
 

Article Databases

 

Below are some general resources related to the areas of Humanities.  Use the tabs to find specialized resources related to your topic.

 


Biography.Com
A searchable site with information on noteworthy people.

Biography Resource Center
440,000 biographies on more than 340,000 people from over 1,000 volumes


CMU Databases



Biography index - CMU access only
Biographical articles from periodicals and books, including autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews and interviews.

Biography resource center- CMU access only
Database of the combined contents of more than a hundred biographical reference sources including the Dictionary of American Biography.

JSTOR -CMU access only
Academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
HELP SHEET

Gale Virtual Reference Library - CMU access only
A good source for general biographical information - try searching the person's name with the "Document Title" option from the drop down menu.

Contemporary women's issues - CMU access only
An electronic database, primarily full text, containing over 1500 sources, including over 150 periodicals, on a broad range of women's issues in over 190 nations worldwide, dating from 1992 to the present.

ECO: Electronic Collections Online - CMU access only
A collection of scholarly journals in the areas of Humanities

SIRS Renaissance - CMU access only
Full-text articles from more than 700 domestic and international sources. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics, including art reproductions, photographs, illustrations, and maps.

 

A-Z Index of Databases (links open in a new window)

A B  |  C  | D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  K  |  L  |  M

N  |  O  |  P  |  Q |  R  |  S  |  T  |  U  |  V  |  W  |  X  |  Y  |  Z

You may also:

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait